People - Economics and Finance - University of Canterbury - New Zealand

People

Academic Staff | Adjunct Professors | Administrative Staff | Erskine Fellows |
Visiting Faculty

Academic Staff

Dr Richard Watt

NZ/SpanishAssoc. Prof. Richard Watt
Head of Department
Associate Professor
Phone: +64 3 369 3736
Internal Phone: 93736
Email: richard.watt@canterbury.ac.nz

Mr Stephen Hickson

NZMr Stephen Hickson
Associate Head of Department
Teaching Fellow

Phone: +64 3 369 3743
Internal Phone: 93743
Email: stephen.hickson@canterbury.ac.nz
AWARDS:
University Teaching Award, 2006
New Zealand Tertiary Teaching Excellence Award, 2012

Mr Steve Agnew

NZDr. Steve Agnew
Senior Lecturer
Phone: +64 3 369 4019
Internal Phone: 94019
Email: steve.agnew@canterbury.ac.nz
AWARDS:
College of Business and Economics Teaching Award 2010
University of Canterbury Teaching Award 2011

Dr Warwick Anderson

NZDr. Warwick Anderson
Lecturer
Phone: +64 3 369 3764
Internal Phone: 93764
Email: warwick.anderson@canterbury.ac.nz

Dr Jedrzej Bialkowski

PolandAssoc. Prof. Jedrzej Bialkowski
Associate Professor
Graduate Studies Coordinator - Finance.

Phone: +64 3 369 4060
Internal Phone: 94060
Email: jedrzej.bialkowski@canterbury.ac.nz

Professor Glenn Boyle

NZProfessor Glenn Boyle
Professor

MAFE Coordinator
Phone: +64 3 369 4240
Internal Phone: 94240
Email: glenn.boyle@canterbury.ac.nz
AWARDS:
ISCR Distinguished Research Fellow, 2008
Best paper in corporate finance prize, NZ Finance Colloquium 2009

Dr Jeremy Clark CanadianAssoc. Prof. Jeremy Clark
Associate Professor

Phone: +64 3 369 4018
Internal Phone: 94018
Email: jeremy.clark@canterbury.ac.nz
Assoc. Prof. Tom Coupé

Assoc. Prof. Tom Coupé
Associate Professor
Phone: +64 3 369 4232
Internal Phone: 94232
Email: tom.coupe@canterbury.ac.nz
AWARDS:
 Kyiv School of Economics Best Teacher Award in 2012, 2014-2016

Dr Huong Dieu Dang

Dr Huong Dieu Dang
Lecturer
Phone: +64 3 369 4059
Internal Phone: 94059
Email: huong.dang@canterbury.ac.nz
AWARDS:
Fulbright Scholar, USA, 2004–2006.
Ludwig-Maximilians University Excellence Research Fellowship, Germany, 2010

IndianDr Kuntal Das
Lecturer
Phone: +64 3 369 3819
Internal Phone: 93819
Email: kuntal.das@canterbury.ac.nz
AWARDS:
Capital Markets Prize, New Zealand Association of Economists Conference, 2010
Milam-McGinty-Kaun Award for Teaching Excellence, UC Santa Cruz, 2005

Dr Alfred Guender

Assoc. Prof. Alfred Guender
Associate Professor
Graduate Studies Coordinator
Phone: +64 3 369 3958
Internal Phone: 93958
Email: alfred.guender@canterbury.ac.nz
AWARDS:
Bundesbank Foundation Chair of Economics, Free University of Berlin, 2010.
Erasmus Mundus Scholar, University of Antwerp, 2013

Dr Philip Gunby

NZ/EnglishDr Philip Gunby
Senior Lecturer
Phone: +64 3 369 3823
Internal Phone: 93823
Email: philip.gunby@canterbury.ac.nz

Dr Andrea Menclova

Czech/NZDr Andrea Menclova
Senior Lecturer
Phone: +64 3 369 3739
Internal Phone: 93739
Email: andrea.menclova@canterbury.ac.nz
AWARDS:
Emerging Researcher (College of Business and Economics) 2008
College Teaching Award 2008

Dr Laura Meriluoto

FinnishDr Laura Meriluoto
Senior Lecturer
Phone: +64 3 369 3792
Internal Phone: 93792
Email: laura.meriluoto@canterbury.ac.nz
AWARDS:
School of Business and Economics Teaching Award 2013

Assoc. Prof. Gilbert Nartea

Assoc. Prof. Gilbert Nartea
Associate Professor
Phone: +64 3 369 2529
Internal Phone: 92529
Email: gerry.nartea@canterbury.ac.nz

Dr Bill Rea

Dr Bill Rea
Senior Lecturer
Phone: +64 3 369 5967
Internal Phone: 95967
Email: bill.rea@canterbury.ac.nz
AWARDS:
Reserve Bank of New Zealand -- New Zealand Econometric Study Group Award in econometrics 2006

Dr Deb Reed

USA/NZDr Debra Reed
Senior Tutor
Phone: +64 3 369 3742
Internal Phone: 93742
Email: debra.reed@canterbury.ac.nz

Professor Bob Reed

USA/NZProfessor Bob Reed
Professor
Phone: +64 3 369 3726
Internal Phone: 93726
Email: bob.reed@canterbury.ac.nz
AWARDS:
College of Business and Economics Teaching Award 2009
University of Canterbury Teaching Award 2010

Dr Alan Stent Dr Alan Stent
Senior Lecturer
Phone: +64 3 369 2484
Internal Phone: 92484
Email: alan.stent@canterbury.ac.nz

Top

Erskine Fellows in 2017

Professor Andy Puckett

Professor Andy Puckett
University of Tennessee
16 January to 8 July

Professor James Alm

Professor James Alm
Tulane University
13 February to 2 April

Professor Louis Murray
University College Dublin
18 February to 4 June

Professor Ray Rees

Professor Ray Rees
Ludwig-Maximilians Unversitaet Munchen
4 May to 9 June

Professor Anindya Banerjee

Professor Anindya Banerjee
University of Birmingham
9 July to 16 September

 

Top

Visiting Faculty

 

Adjunct Professors

Dr Eric Crampton Dr Eric Crampton
Adjunct Senior Fellow
Email: eric.crampton@canterbury.ac.nz
Dr Susmita Roy IndianDr Susmita Roy Das
Adjunct Senior Fellow
Email: susmita.roy@canterbury.ac.nz
Mr Robin Harrison

NZ/EnglishMr Robin Harrison
Adjunct Senior Fellow
Phone: +64 3 369 3704
Internal Phone: 93704
Email: robin.harrison@canterbury.ac.nz

Dr Philip Meguire

USA/FrenchDr Philip Meguire
Adjunct Senior Fellow
Phone: +64 3 369 4061
Internal Phone: 94061
Email: philip.meguire@canterbury.ac.nz

Associate Professor Alan Woodfield

Associate Professor Alan Woodfield
Adjunct Associate Professor
Email: alan.woodfield@canterbury.ac.nz

Top

Administrative Staff

Meredith Henderson Meredith Henderson
Departmental Administrator
Phone: +64 3 369 3989
Internal Phone: 93989
Email: meredith.henderson@canterbury.ac.nz